Summernats Burnout Championship Hall of Fame

The full list of Street Machine Summernats Burnout Champions


The defining feature of the Street Machine Summernats is the iconic burnout pad. The Street Machine Nationals that preceded it had burnouts too, but in those days, the skids were held on the cruise route. Pretty cool, but the bespoke pad set the stage for the sport to grow into the massive circus it is today. In the early days, the competition was largely made up of genuine streeters, with specialised burnout cars not appearing in large numbers until the early 2000s. Who will add their name to the list?

We’ll find out at Street Machine Summernats 35, January 5-8 2023. Note: While we’ve managed to match most of the images up to the year of the competitor’s win, there were a couple we couldn’t find, so we’ve used shots from other Summernats events.

Summernats Burnout Champions

11988Greg Thompson Capri
21989Glenn Rogers XC Falcon ute
31990Chris Christou XY GTHO
41991Chris Christou XY GTHO
51992Wayne Doherty HX Holden van
61993Gary Myers, Ford Mustang
71994Gary Myers, Ford Mustang
81995Gary Myers, Ford Mustang
91996Mark Dall’Acqua, Ford Escort
101997Tony De Oliveira, Toyota Corolla
111998Wayne Butler, HB Torana
121999Matt Abood, ’57 Chev
132000Gary Myers, Ford Mustang
142001Debbie Gray, 1968 Camaro
152002Mark Dall’Acqua, Ford Escort
162003Peter Gray, 1968 Camaro
172004Nathan Owens-Place, XE Falcon
182005Dan Smith, C10 Chev
192006Peter Grmusa, XR Falcon
202007Peter Grmusa, XR Falcon
212008Joe Pagano, Commodore ute
222009Aaron Mackley, VANTASY
232010Mick Brasher, Toyota Corolla
242011Adam Slorach, HR ute
252012Warren Eustace, HQ Holden
262013Mark Schwirse, Commodore ute
272014Warren Eustace, HQ Holden
282015Steve Edsall, VE Commodore
292016Darren Bromage, Holden ute
302017Anthony Page, HZ Holden ute
312018Phil Kerjean, VK Commodore wagon
322019Mick Hamon, WIDE OPEN VE Commodore
332020Rick Fuller, LSONE VK Commodore
Summernats Slam2021No award
342022Steve Loader, UCSMOKE HT Holden
352023Anthony Page PAGEY HZ ute
362024Chris Smallmon, BLWNVY VY Commodore