Street Machine Summernats – the Grand Champions

Presenting the honour roll of Street Machine Summernats Grand Champions!


THE Street Machine Summernats Grand Champion award is the premier award at Australia’s biggest and most prestigious event for modified cars. Prior to Summernats six, the award was known as Top Street Machine Overall, before it was revamped as the sexier-sounding Grand Champion. Regardless, the concept has remained the same – finding that car that is not only technically proficient, but also popular and a driver.

To win, you need to accumulate the most points from the judging, the People’s Choice and driving events. No mean feat and that simple idea that at street machine should be able do more than just look good under lights has thrown up plenty of wild card over the last 30 years. So here they are, the top cars from the past Street Machine Summernats. We’ll find out who is added to that list at the next Summernats in 2023.

SUMMERNATSPeople’s ChoiceGrand ChampTop Judged
1988 1Greg CarlsonRob BeauchampRex Webster
1989 2Howard AstillRob BeauchampScott McLachlan
1990 3Ron BarclayRob BeauchampRon Barclay
1991 4Leo JanssenHoward AstillHoward Astill
1992 5Bill NeskovskiHoward AstillRon Barclay
1993 6Con & Vic ElfesPeter FitzpatrickPeter Collier
1994 7Craig ChristensenBrain WillisFrank Rejtano
1995 8Brian WillisDennis LaingFrank Rejtano
1996 9Peter FitzpatrickPeter FitzpatrickJohn Riskas
1997 10Ron ZelukovicHoward AstillEd Brodie
1998 11Ed BrodiePeter FitzpatrickMark Jones
1999 12Troy HillierPeter FitzpatrickJohn Portelli
2000 13Mark JonesShane BurcherHoward Astill
2001 14Peter FitzpatrickAnthony FabrisDarryl McBeth
2002 15Drago OstricPeter FitzpatrickMark Jones
2003 16Ben GattMark CourseRod Hadfield
2004 17Anthony SantDrago OstricAnthony Sant
2005 18Gary MyersGary Myers/Dave RitchieGary Myers
2006 19Aaron FitzpatrickAaron FitzpatrickBruno Gianoncelli
2007 20Joe AgnelloZoltan BodoBruno Gianoncelli
2008 21Joe LoreRob GodfreyDitch Jones
2009 22Joe LoreDarrell LeemhuisDarrell Leemhuis
2010 23Graeme CowinJoe LoreGraeme Cowin
2011 24Peter FitzpatrickPeter FitzpatrickPeter Fitzpatrick
2012 25Ben SargentBen SargentLeisa Chinnock
2013 26Mick FabarMick FabarMick Fabar
2014 27Terry MourchedHenry ParryLeisa Chinnock
2015 28Nathan BorgNathan BorgJohn Saad
2016 29Grant ConnorJohn SaadJohn Saad
2017 30Simon MokdassiMark WilliamsPeter Hinz
2018 31Dave XuerebGrant ConnorGrahame/Colin Barker
2019 32Dave WilsonRick WernerRobert Zahabi
2020 33Gareth LougherTodd SorensenCharles Harley
2021 Summernats SlamJonathan Danaskos
2022 34Marcus NikolicJason ManswetoTrent Carter
2023 35Peter LewisLivi KrevatinNick Chronopoulos