Legendary Holden Bathurst winners honoured with collectable stamps

The new collectable stamps honour some of Holden’s greatest Bathurst wins


To celebrate this year’s delayed Bathurst 1000 being one of the last times we see a Holden badge racing, Australia Post has released a limited run of collectable stamps featuring previous winners.

The illustrations, dubbed the Holden ‘Final Roar’ range, are from the pen of former Lion and Stone designer Peter Hughes, and while the drawings themselves are awesome, it got us wondering – did they miss out on a few key victories?

Peter Brock’s 1972 LJ Holden Torana XU-1

The ’72 running of Bathurst’s greatest race was significant for a number of reasons, not least the fact Peter Brock beat home second-placed finisher John French’s Ford Falcon XY GTHO III by a whole lap.

It was Brock’s first of nine victories at the Mountain, and 1972 also marked the last year of the 500 mile race before it was extended to the 1000 kilometre marathon it is now. It was also the last time a single driver was allowed to complete the whole race on their own – hence why Brock won without a co-pilot.

Larry Perkins 1993 VP Holden Commodore

1993 was the first Bathurst 1000 of the ‘true’ Ford versus Holden era of Supercars racing, after the Ford Sierra and Nissan Skyline GT-R were outlawed from Group A racing at the end of 1992.

Team owner Larry and co-driver Gregg Hansford took home the cherries over Mark Skaife and Jim Richards. Unlike the other Commodores in the field, Larry stuck with genuine Holden power rather than switching to a Chevrolet-based V8 for 1993, even having Holden homologated engine parts just for his racing needs.

It was also one of the rare times a pole sitter went on to win the event.

Craig Lowndes & Greg Murphy’s 1996 VR Holden Commodore

While most will say the 1994 edition of the Great Race was the year ‘The Kid’ Craig Lowndes arrived in Supercars racing, 1996 marked a record-breaking win with Greg Murphy.

Craig was just 22 years-old and Murphy was 24, the pair becoming the youngest duo to win the race at a time when Craig also won the championship in his debut year as a full-time driver – a feat that has never been beaten.

Craig would have to wait a decade for another Bathurst victory, going on to win a total of seven titles. Murphy’s legacy also flourished, with four wins in total and the unforgettable ‘Lap of the Gods’ in 2003.

Mark Skaife’s 2001 VX Holden Commodore

The late 1990s to early 2000s marked a truly dominant era for the Holden Racing Team and Mark Skaife, which included back-to-back Bathurst wins in 2001 and 2002, serving as icing on the cake to three straight Supercars’ drivers titles for Skaife.

His 2001 win was shared with Tony Longhurst, Skaife edging home over Brad Jones’ AU Falcon with barely a drop of fuel left.

Skaife won a total of six Bathurst crowns, four of which came in Iron Lions.

Shane Van Gisbergen and Garth Tander’s 2020 ZB Holden Commodore

While most may want to trash the ZB, the Triple Eight-developed race car is as Australian as everything else on this list.

2020 wasn’t just the flying Kiwi Shane Van Gisbergen’s maiden win on the Mountain, but was also the last factory-backed tilt at the event by Holden.

It’s rather fitting that the official Holden Racing Team won its final run there, 30 years after Allan Grice and Win Percy took its first Bathurst victory in 1990.

This year’s event will be the one of the last times we see a Holden (albeit unofficially) at Bathurst before the switch to Camaros in the new Gen 3 era of Supercars in 2023.

The ZB rounds out the cars used for the collectable stamps – and you can view the full listings here – but what Holden Bathurst winners do you feel are missing?

Street Machine‘s Simon Telford says Allan Grice’s 1986 ‘Chickadee’ VK Commodore and 1990 VL Commodore Group A SV should’ve got a look in. Brocky’s back-to-back effort in the A9X LX hatch in 1978 and ’79 with Jim Richards is a glaring omission too, as was his heroics in the wet in the HDT VL in 1987.

Greg Murphy’s Kmart VY Commodore, which blitzed the Mountain with his ‘Lap of the Gods’ in the 2003 shootout, is a moment which undisputedly deserves a spot.

Skaife’s skill to limp home his HRT VX Commodore in 2002 with the radiator intake stuffed full of plastic was something truly special, and Jason Bargwanna and Garth Tander’s 2000 win for Garry Rogers Motorsport in their VT Commodore is a true underdog story.

So who do you think should’ve made the list? Let us know in the comments below.