The class winners of the 2015 Street Machine Drag Challenge

Photographers: Kirsten Broadley

Street Machine Drag Challenge 2015 has been run and won, and for the second consecutive year…

LX Torana 025 DCQuentin Feast’s Torana has won Australia’s toughest street car torture test – but only just. After five days of drag racing, 1400km of hard slog and dozens upon dozens of passes, all that separated Quentin’s Torana and Terry Seng’s VC Commodore were three one hundredths of a second.

Commodore 004 DC
The two turbo LS-powered Holdens frantically exchanged passes all afternoon at Calder Park, and despite having run a seven on day one, Terry’s best pass of 8.00 from today wasn’t a strong enough answer to Quentin’s 8.23, just falling short of eroding the .26-second deficit he had heading into the final day of competition.

NOSHOW HSV Clubsport 044 DC
Adam Rogash from MPW sealed the win in the Outlaw Blown class in his VT Clubsport, and in doing so ran a PB and dipped into the sevens for the first time. Needless to say, he was pretty stoked. Harry Haig found the time in between fishing trips to do a spot of drag racing, and finished up second in class.

Ford Capri 032 DC
The Radial Aspirated class was a doozy, with three good mates in a trio of nine-second Ford-powered Capris occupying the podium positions. When all was said and done, it was Alon Vella with the win from Tristan Triccas and Nathan Ghosn.

Ford Mustang 033 DC
In Outlaw Aspirated Mark Clifford’s fearsome 1000hp Mustang was declared the victor followed by Adam Lynch’s small-block Holden One Tonner.

Alisha 002 DC
The Dial Your Own class made for exciting racing, with the clinically consistent Alysha Teale in her Chev-powered black HQ sedan getting the win over John Kerr’s Comet.

The rest of the trophy winners are as follows:

Outlaw Blown runner up: Harry Haig

Outlaw Aspirated runner up: Adam Lynch

Radial Blown runner up: Terry Seng

Radial Aspirated runner up: Tristian Triccas

Dial your own runner up: John Kerr

Drag Challenge Shootout winner: Bubba

Dial Your Own Shootout winner: Carl Taylor

Quickest ET: Terry Seng

Fastest Chev V8-powered car: Terry Seng

Fastest Holden V8-powered car: Bubba

Fastest Ford V8-powered car: Alon Vella

Fastest Mopar V8-powered car: Steve Reimann

Fastest six-cylinder: Brad Keem

Fastest four-cylinder: Tim Bailey

Fastest without a trailer: Mark Clifford

Longest distance travelled: Brad Pettitt

Longest distance driven: Brenton Miller

Hard luck award: Louis Younis

Spirit of Drag Challenge award: Brett Matthew

Thanks to all our wonderful sponsors for helping make Drag Challenge 2015 possible: Haltech, Castlemaine Rod Shop, Mack 247 and Turbosmart.