Rare Spares Rockynats 4: Drags, burnout & dyno results

The winners and grinners from the dyno, drags and skids

Photographers: Fee Powell Photography, Ashleigh Wilson

Rare Spares Rockynats 4 is run and done, after a weekend of massive action across the city.

The Street Drags have grown to be a massive part of the event, with almost 800 pairings down the Quay Street eighth-mile track in qualifying yesterday. Today was all about eliminations, with racers having to contend with a true, unprepped street surface, hot conditions and a sportsman tree in their quest to make the finals.

In the headlining Pro Street Class, reigning champ Paul Butler sealed the deal for the second time in his Nissan SR20–powered Nana Gemini, with Daniel List’s Torana in second place. No matter what the class, if you make it to the finals at this event, you have really achieved something.

Cody Hunt dominated the dyno in his R8 Clubsport wagon, with a new event record of 1852hp at the hubs, while Drag Challenge veteran Chris Kaarsberg nabbed the Torque Titan trophy.

And on the pad, the day belonged to last year’s runner-up, Wal Gersekowski and always-impressive ITUFHG ute.

Next year’s event will be on 4-6 April, stay tuned for more info!


  • Pro Street Winner: Paul Butler, Gemini
  • Pro Street 2nd: Daniel List, LX Torana
  • Super Street Winner: Chris Riley, HZ GTS
  • Super Street 2nd: Andrew Borg, XY Falcon
  • Street Winner: Dan Rollingson, 1955 Chev
  • Street 2nd: Mark Johnston, WB one-tonner
  • Bike Winner: Nathaniel Lehr, Yamaha MT
  • Bike 2nd: Blake Morgan, Triumph 675


  • Burnout Pro Winner, Wal Gersekowski, HG ute
  • Burnout Pro 2nd: Jesse Johnson, VK Commodore
  • Burnout Pro 3rd : Kev Davis, VZ Thunder ute
  • Burnout Pro 4th: Ryan Lofts
  • Burnout Pro 5th: Heath Madgwick
  • Burnout Open Winner: Shaun Serotzki, VW Amarok
  • Burnout Open 2nd: Ryan Borsboom, CV8 Monaro
  • Burnout Open 3rd: Josh Coleman, VH Commodore


  • Dyno Champion: Cody Hunt, VE Clubsport R8 @ 1852hp
  • Torque Titan: Chris Kaarsberg, LX Torana
  • Spray N Pray: Andy Fensom, LX Torana
  • Boost Demon: Lachlan Heffernan, 2012 Falcon
  • Rev Monster: Andy Fensom, LX Torana